Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

So, like I stated from my previous post where I compared and contrasted Shades of Grey to Grabriel’s Inferno I wasn’t done with the book at the time and I would follow up with you regarding my thoughts.

I think this description is perfect. Shades of Grey is like Mike’s Hard Lemonade while Gabriel’s Inferno is like fine wine. Surely, Mike’s Hard Lemonade is enjoyable and refreshing at times, it’s not quite as sophisticated.

( I am not going to summarize the story or ruin it by adding spoilers, I’ll just give you my thoughts )

The novel was wonderful, it kept me reading all the way till my sleep deprivation could handle it no longer. Although, there were a few parts of the book that dragged on, it picked back up enough to keep you interested.

I had a little problem with the dialogue on Gabriel’s part. I understand that he’s supposed to be an incredibly passionate and intelligent professor with an interest in all things Italian, Dante and what not -but he seemed over dramatic sometimes.

I may just be starved of romance but there were moments when he would speak where, if I was Julia, I would have laughed hysterically at the awkward cheesiness of it all. But that’s just me! I’m sure its incredibly sweet and Gabriel really did grow as a character. He redeemed himself greatly from start to finish.

I’m really interested to see where the author takes the story into the 2nd book, which I of course, will be reading soon.

Over all the book was great and I would recommend it to anyone!

ImageAnother great book to check out is The Gargoyle by Andrew Davidson. This was one of my all time favorite books and the author had only written one. It took several years to complete because of all the research he had done. I don’t want to ruin anything so I’ll leave it to you whether you take my word or not, but I really enjoyed this book.

