Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Before I received an iPad for Christmas from the coolest daddy in-law ever, I wasn’t very big on reading books through Kindle. Actually, as I remember, I was quite an advocate for the printed word and went on a rampage about the smell,feel,awesomeness of books. I still am that way and hope to one day have a library in my home, Beauty and the Beast style! But once I got the iPad, I couldn’t believe how accessible books became. So of course, all the pros came to mind: It costs less to buy books through kindle, saving trees (i think), everything is right at your finger tips, travel friendly and so on…

But it also depressed me to know that I am part of the “In between” generation. Which is the generation that saw the shift between cassette tapes to CDs to MP3s to iPods. Also film to digital and the demise of polaroid film. And now, the death of printed books.

Sure, my kids won’t have back issues from carrying heavy book filled backpacks but they wont get to experience the feel of a new book. The way the binding cracks when you open it. The smell of it. How the pages become worn over time. The way a hardcover feels in your hands vs. paperback. Or how roaming the bookstore was such an adventure. Searching through shelves and shelves of colorful books and sitting on the floor surrounded by your favorite writers…

So here I am, with my iPad and gorgeous new cover. Notice how I can plug in headphones and listen to music while reading? I’ve gone to the dark side and I kinda like it here…

