Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

What am I doing at Starbucks at 1:43 am you ask? Well, I’m racking my brain for that final chapter of my book. Yes, I know what the ending is but its that damn bridge to get to the ending I can’t seem to get right. On top of that, my nit picky perfectionist side has come up with an idea of rewriting the prologue and first chapter… I am apparently a glutton for punishment. Other than that I’m also nearing that moment I dread, time for publication. To make myself feel a little better, I went on to research great novels that have been rejected and I couldn’t help but laugh out loud at some (which made for interesting looks from other late night Starbucks goers)

Here is a link to a website that lists 30 famous authors who have been rejected. Some of those authors include Stephen King, George Orwell, William Faulkner and Anne Frank.

A publisher wrote the following, regarding The Diary of Anne Frank:

The girl doesn’t, it seems to me, have a special perception or feeling which would lift that book above the ‘curiosity’ level.

I wonder if these publishers kicked themselves in the ass later on in life. I sure hope so.

