Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

First and foremost I feel awful, like I’ve rejected my blog but in all honesty… I’ve been neglecting a lot of things i.e. School, house work and sleep. I’ve been focusing (obsessing) over the last draft of my book and  I’m glad to say it’s still going well! My friend Lisa has been a giant help and tons of coffee  has definitely contributed to this too. I feel like I’m dragging my feet sometimes but I know that I need to pace myself.

One inspirational thing though was reading a book called “Rule” by Jay Crownover. I’m going to assume it was a self published book since it’s notorious for having so many spelling and grammatical errors. (Which surprisingly enough didn’t bother me because I liked the story so much) If you haven’t picked up on it yet, I love quick reads and I also enjoy stories similar to Rule. Pretty much – bad boy meets good girl – love stories. I’m a sucker for those. Sorry I’m not “deep” enough. I’ll be writing a book review soon enough.

My main focus of bringing up Rule is the author’s note at the end of the book. She talked about how she wrote it in a haste and just wanted to get this story out- prove to herself she can do it (and she did). That’s pretty much where I’m at. I wanted to challenge myself (among other reasons) and just finish an entire novel to call my own. I went stalker-ish and googled her, she’s not quite “well-known” and the book has yet to be on the “best seller list” but she was so happy to have sold over 75,000 copies in one weekend and by golly she should be! I’d be shouting from the roof tops!

I’m not a fan of the book cover but thats pretty much the extent of my complaints. I loved her letter at the end of her novel and it gave me that little extra nudge to get my butt into gear and get this damn book published. I don’t want to hurry it too much and diminish it’s quality of course… just amped to get this done.

After I read her letter to her readers, I looked up “self publishing” tips on google. I’ve done this a few times already just to familiarize myself with the process and see what’s out there but most of the things I read are quite vague. This specific site I found was so helpful and it even made self publishing sound even better than going straight to an agency! I kept saying self publishing was my last resort for this book but now I’m more inclined to just SP right off the bat! (That may change later but right now I’m considering it) Anyways, here is the link to the site. Its worth a read !!!

xoxo

