Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I found that in writing, I use italics to emphasize words quite often. Mostly in arguments and so on. I am a huge advocate in emphasizing. Here’s a great example on how this can change and better your writing. (See what I did there?)

Take this sentence as an example: “I don’t think she murdered him.”
Now with different words emphasized the meanings become entirely different.

I don’t think she murdered him.
I don’t think she murdered him.
I don’t think she murdered him.
I don’t think she murdered him.
I don’t think she murdered him.
I don’t think she murdered him.

So after reading that, you can see how different the meaning becomes with just simple emphasizing of words. The first sentence implies that YOU don’t think she murdered him. The last implies that she didn’t murder HIM… maybe someone else?

Try it out in your writing and see your dialogue become more vibrant and powerful.

