Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Day 6 | Week one

7efcd9b6014ef82b10dc1f8f4772e561

It’s a funny thing, when people find out you’re writing a novel, their reaction is always the same… “Oh, what is it about?” or “What kind of story?” I watch their faces fall when I say, “It’s a romance novel.” I can see the images projecting in their mind of Harlequin novels. A bare chested Fabio riding a white steed with a raven haired beauty across his lap clinging onto him with unbridled passion. My ultimate favorite is when they say, “Oh? Like Fifty Shades of Grey!”

NOPE. SORRY. Try again.

I’ve decided it best to just say, “Adult fiction” or “It’s a love story!” to avoid all the awkwardness. Sure, there is sex in my book. Sex is an important part of romance. But I think my story has enough depth to overshadow the smut. 

